Synovial Syntax

Getting off my arse

Posted on: July 17, 2010

On Wednesday I also got the green light to get into some proper exercise. My joints have stabilised and shoulder tendon healed. I’ve been advised three things – swim for cardio health, resistance train to strengthen joint support from muscles and try and get on a power plate now and then to improve bone density. I think that was what he said about the power plate anyway.

Am going to go and look up this link with resistance training and RA especially.

Wanted to fit a first swim into a very busy time last week, was about to set off and realised I’d thrown my goggles out in a hissy fit back in the bad old days, probably accompanied by a histrionic ‘I’ll never swim again, *sob*’. Have decided to invest in the fit future and been to SpecSavers to treat myself to prescription goggles this time. Looking forward to this.

In lieu of the swim, or cash for trainer/gym at the moment, I hoiked myself back onto the Wii Fit today. Managed to fit 15 minutes of its aerobic stuff into a daftly complex morning. Was thrilled to find my hips and knees have stopped grating and wobbling out when doing the virtual hula hoop. Really feels like progress, that tiny 15 minutes.

2 Responses to "Getting off my arse"

That’s great news!
I have prescription swim goggles, and love them. A bonus (on top of being able to see in the pool) is that nobody else borrows them ūüėČ

I’m looking forward to seeing the kids’ faces when they swim, I find it stressful not telling how they’re doing!

Leave a Reply

Older posts

