Synovial Syntax

All quiet on the RA front

Posted on: July 14, 2010

I’m just out of consult, and it’s as good as it gets. It’s a sort of remission, or a serious damping down at any rate.

I have to live with the monthly peaks, plan around them and get exercising again preferably without injuring myself this time. Lesson learnt, just because it feels good at the time, I can’t really thrash things in the pool like I used to! Plus I must stop trying to play so hard with my ever growing young boys. The main impact of injuries in my case seems to be, apart from extra joint damage, that I then have to take steroids which melt my immune system, increasing infections rate and severity and meaning I have to delay the MTX and Humira. Which in turn cycles me into non-healing joints etc.

I live and learn.

Bloods are all behaving nicely. It was also reassuring to hear about new research which shows anti-TNFs reduce cholesterol which been raised a bit by MTX.

I had a good whinge about my GPs daft notion that I go in 24 times a year to present blood results, despite only have my bloods done 6 times a year (which needs 12 visits only). Hopefully I’ve imploded that situation anyway by arranging with pharmacy to run my repeat MTX situation. They seem infinitely more efficient and less panicky than the GP reception staff.

That’s it really. I know this situation is as good as it gets, as my next appointments are in the agreeably hazy future, and not next month.

Huuray:)

4 Responses to "All quiet on the RA front"

I would like to suggest you visit http://www.roadback.org and look into low dose, long term antibiotic therapy.

There is also a book you can read on the subject. “The New Arthritis Breakthrough, Including Dr. Brown’s classic, The Road Back by Henry Scammell”

I can’t offer much in the way of info, since I am new to it myself, but I sure wish someone would’ve told me about it years ago.

Take care,
Gina

Brilliant, hope it all continues onwards and upwards for you! x

I go in 24 times a year to present blood results, despite only have my bloods done 6 times a year (which needs 12 visits only)

What?! That’s crazy! Glad you got it fixed.

Good to hear that you’re feeling so well.

Yup, I had to present my blood results in person and go back again 3 days later for prescription. Every month. Despite only having bloods done every 2 months. Was their cunning plan. I fussed, hopefully it’s sorted, we’ll see in practice next week:)

Nice to ‘see’ you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Older posts

