Synovial Syntax

Making a fist of it

Posted on: September 3, 2009

Was at the hospital yesterday for routine bloods. The test with RA written all over the form. Where they ask you to make a fist, squeeze the ball. ‘I can’t’ I often have to say. ‘Tut’, they say. ‘Hey’ say I, ‘can’t you see the RA flare there?’, ‘Soooorrrrreeeee’ they say.

2 Responses to "Making a fist of it"

EEEEkkkkk
this is so familiar.
they straighten my arm by jerking my elbow so that my shoulder is way too high for “comfort” and want me to keep it there. I have gigantic veins which could be drawn with no tourniquette at all. but oh noooo. they HAVE to tie it tight and wait til my hand turns purple… 😛

When I go for bloodtests, the following conversation happens every time:

“Can’t you straighten your arm?”

“No.”

“Did you break it? I can’t get blood out of that.”

“I have rheumatoid arthritis. It won’t bend. You can, and will, get blood out of that.”

And then they do. Every time.

Leave a Reply

Older posts

