Synovial Syntax

Flu

Posted on: August 11, 2009

Just as it’s going out of fashion, I suspect I have flu, though it’s hard to tell on these steroids. Temp only raised on activity, slightly sore throat and no runny nose. Major muscle ache and ‘excuse me, I’m done now’ lie-straight-down-and-sleep-all-day fatigue. Husband can’t work as is looking after kids. I actually don’t feel too bad as long as I don’t do much. Well, anything.

Called the GP, who wanted me to go in for checks. Not keen on that, as up til now turning over and sitting up in bed have required major efforts of will. Won’t take methotrexate tonight as advised by rheumatology.org.uk. I suspect that turning down offered help will result in flurry of contact from the GPs for the next two days. Will go in if any slightest hint of a silent pneumonia or such like, or as soon as I feel strong enough, whichever is first.

Knackered now. Kind of enjoying having an acute illness. Bizarre, no? It’s because I know it will either get better or kill me and I won’t have to adjust to it for the rest of my life. Also, all my residual joint pain has gone to be replaced by muscle ache, which to be honest are not very painful in comparison, just warm and tiring and respond to paracetemol a fair bit. And sleep works to make me feel better, unlike with RA when it doesn’t really work. Night night, back for 3rd sleep of the day I think!

2 Responses to "Flu"

Your GP wanted you to COME IN when you thought you might have flu?! Wow! Ours have a big notice on the door: ‘If you think you might have flu DO NOT COME IN. Ring this helpline number … etc. etc.

Hope you’re feeling better – about to go and read the next post to find out!

Kind of enjoying having an acute illness. Bizarre, no? It’s because I know it will either get better or kill me and I won’t have to adjust to it for the rest of my life.

I know what you mean!
Hope you’re feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

Older posts

