Synovial Syntax

Bump up the volume

Posted on: May 4, 2011

Ah, well now, wasn’t expecting that. Bloods a teeny tiny bit elevated recently, Prof taking my niggling aches more seriously than me. He ‘doesn’t like’ that my elbows are beginning to give when weightbearing. No, me neither, but I’m still a bit deflated to have him finding issue…and increasing my sub-cut MTX to 17.5mg.

Other than that, watch and see. It could all just be a reaction to the pressure of the year so far – see previous post re: husband working abroad and me starting a new job. It might be all that is keeping me from remission status, and in slight progression status.

To be honest, I’d rather feel that life was engaging and developing and I was in slight progression, than that I coudn’t work and husband had to prematurely rein in work for me to acheive a period of formal remission. So, I may be trading stress to get interest out of life. It seems a fair trade at these not-wildly-stressed/not-wildly-inflammed levels!

He has said to take more note of aches and pains and joints slips and weaknesses though. Apparently there’s a number of us whose pain thresholds get so high, and pain medication use gets so efficiently targeted, that we don’t get enough messages from what our bodies are trying to tell us after a few years of RA. I hadn’t really thought of that, I can see some truth in it for me. Anyone else?

2 Responses to "Bump up the volume"

I am basically where you are at. Well, not pain free, but not real bad overall except occas or under certain circumstances. Doc says some lower level activity going on without blood checking. Increasing oral mtx up to 25 with a split dose (twice per week) regimine now. Will start that when I get the new mtx script. Mine might be from tapering prednisone. At real low dose now. Is unmasking symptoms and activity apparently. Hope your increase works!

Good luck Chelsea! I hope things get better, certainly no worse. I’ve heard that the steroid withdrawal can be tricky, hope yours goes smoothly.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Older posts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

